pray & laugh

Life is constantly changing. Life is different today than it was yesterday and it will be different tomorrow. For me life is about to change drastically. In 23 short days I will be walking across the stage and graduating with a Bachelors of Arts in English. I will no longer be a undergrad university student and I will no longer be a Crandall student.  

I have been thinking about that day – graduation – for a long time. I have been praying about it for an even longer time. What is going to happen once I graduated? Where is God leading me for the next steps of my journey of life?

One of the things I am trying to do lately is to live like a Proverbs 31 woman and with all these questions and expectations for post-graduation I have been really trying to focus on verse 25:

She is clothed with strength and dignity
and she laughs without fear of the future
Proverbs 31:25 (NLT)

I have really been working on not fearing the future over the past little while. A few years ago that is all I did, fear the future, and I still do sometimes, but every time I start to get freaked out over what happens next I remember that I have a God who already knows my future and he knows what he is doing. So instead of fearing the future I can laugh because I know that God is in control.

17917048_10211465375010564_1913916951_o

 That being said, I still had some big decisions to make this year in regards to my future.*

They were not decisions that I could just sleep on and wake up the next morning knowing what to do. No, I have been thinking about and praying for about making the right decision since September.

 Whenever I get stressed out about making decisions I am reminded of an old VBS song that basically sings Philippians 4:6. Don’t worry; instead, pray.

 So when it’s time to make decisions I pray. And I pray and I pray. I ask others to pray for me and then I pray some more.

 If you think of it, Proverbs 31:25 and Philippians 4:6-7 can work really well together.

 Instead of fearing the future I pray and I experience God’s peace so then I can laugh about the future and not be afraid of it.

 Philippians 4:6-7 says:

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

 From my own experience I can attest to this! I have done it, I have prayed and taken my decisions to God and in return he has given me peace about what to do. It really is something that exceeds anything I could ever understand so it makes it hard to explain sometimes, but what I can say is don’t worry, instead pray.

17916523_10211465377410624_202193850_o

 Take your worries about the future, your fears, your decisions, and you praises to God. Surrender them all to him and you will experience his peace, which is better than anything you could ever imagine.

 Thanks for reading,

 Em

*For anyone wondering what these big decisions are, I have decided to continue on my academic career and will be attending Saint Thomas University in Fredericton New Brunswick in the fall 2017 with their Bachelor of Education program!*

Leave a Reply

