Seeking the lost

Today’s post is something that has been on my heart for a while. Most recently, it has come up a lot the past week, but in reality, it is something I have been thinking about for the past few months.

Last fall I took an entire course on evangelism and I think that’s what started it all. Then in the winter semester, I took a course on young adults where I had to have a conversation with a young adult who doesn’t regularly attend church; that just added to my thoughts. Finally, this past week as I have been taking spring intensive courses for my Bachelor of Theology, the topic of saving the lost has come up quite a bit. So that leads us here, to this post, where I plan to share what has been on my heart for seeking the lost.

As I’ve said, this past week at Acadia, the topic of seeking and saving the lost has come up a lot. In chapel on Wednesday, the speaker talked about seeking out to save the lost. On top of that, my professor from this past week was also very passionate about saving the lost so he talked about it a lot – it was such an encouragement.

There are people that we see every day who are lost.* Currently, I am sitting in a very crowded Just Us. (Just Us is a cute little coffee shop in Wolfville N.S.) Just Us is attached to a tiny theatre and there is some sort of dance show happening and at this very moment there are dozens are people here. As I sit and drink my London Fog and people watch, I can’t help but wonder how many of these people know the Lord? How many are seeking for him? How many know absolutely nothing about him at all?

As I’ve said, lately God has really been laying the idea of evangelism on my heart. And let me tell you it has gotten me thinking of lots of questions: As a Christian is it not my job to tell others about my amazing and good and loving Savior? Shouldn’t I be burning with the passion to share the Good News of the Gospel? My relationship with Jesus is the best part of my life; it is something that I should want others to experience as well. And I do. I do want others to experience Jesus in the same way that I have experienced Jesus, yet for some reason, I do not nearly share the Gospel as much as I should. I hardly share it with the people who are most important to me.

This needs to change.

When I was in chapel on Wednesday, the thing that stood out most to me was something the speaker said. He said the worst part of being lost is not having someone looking for you. Woah. That hit me like a ton of bricks!

The worst part of being lost is not having someone looking for you.

Now I know I cannot save the lost, only Jesus can do that, but we as Christians can introduce others to Jesus and be a witness to them. We can plant a seed and Christ will make it grow.

 The first time I had a chat with a friend about Jesus, I learned was that it really is not as scary to ask my friends where they stand in regards to faith and spirituality as I thought it would be. This is especially true if they are close friends.

I’m someone who is not afraid to talk about everything with my friends. I trust and love all of them so much I feel like I can talk to them about anything and everything. I have always been this way, in fact, I probably talk to them too much, to the point where I drive them all nuts.

 However, I have never really talked about Christianity with my friends. It was just something that never really came up.

 I know that it is something I should be talking about but if I’m being totally honest here, I have always been scared to. I was scared that they might think I’m being too pushy or offensive or judgmental.

But after my conversation with my friend (which happened because it was mandatory for a school assignment btw), I learned that it really is not that hard to talk to my friends about God. It was easy, just like any other conversation. Actually, when we were talking I kept thinking how is it that we have never talked about this before?

Every day of the week, God places you in the presence of the lost and there is a message they need to hear.

The key to talking to others about faith is remembering that Christ was like us in our humanity.

Jesus came to this earth as a human. He was born as a baby and grew up living a life like us. He had emotions, he had temptations, and he had struggles. Yet in all that he was still able to do God’s will through the power of God. Every day of the week, God places you in the presence of the lost and there is a message that they need to hear

This is encouraging because we too can walk around doing the will of God knowing that we are in his power.

since you seek proof that Christ is speaking in me. He is not weak in dealing with you, but is powerful among you. For he was crucified in weakness, but lives by the power of God. For we also are weak in him, but in dealing with you we will live with him by the power of God. (2 Corinthians 13:3-4 ESV)

Miracles are happing around us every day. The dead are raised to life and the lost are being found. We can take part in those miracles too. Seek the lost and tell them about the goodness of God.

Thanks for reading,

 Em

*When I say we, I’m talking from the perspective of a believer. If you’re reading this today and you are not a Christian but are interested or have questions, please send me a message! I might not be able to answer all your questions but I would love to get to know you and to tell you about my journey of faith and my amazing relationship with Christ.

Leave a Reply

