Guarding my Heart

The Lord continues to amaze me with his love and guidance in my life.

I’ve said it before and I will continue to say it. On this blog, I want to be honest and in the next few weeks that isn’t going to change. I’m starting a new blogging series for the month of June I’ve been working on some of these posts for months now and I’m really excited and scared to share them. So if you’re with me on this buckle up because this month we are going to be talking about boys!

 Ah boys, they are pretty much my favourite subject. Even though I am a single lady and have hardly any experience with guys I still have some stuff that I want to say. So if you’re single like me or in a relationship I hope you will stick around.

 Okay so I’m going to be real with you – I’m a girl who is ready to be wifed up. I have not had a steady relationship that lasted longer than two months since I was in high school. There have been a few guys here and there but we have never actually gotten to the point where there was a DTR moment (DTR means to define the relationship for anyone who didn’t know).

 However, I have been seriously longing for a relationship that will be more than just a fling. Maybe it is because my university was a school where the students always joked about getting a “Ring by Spring,” maybe it is because it is finally summer and what is better than a summer romance, or maybe it is because I’ve always desired to be a mom and wife someday and now that I’m almost done school I’m looking forward to those days more and more.

 As much as I desire to have a boyfriend and get married some day, I never lose sight of my number one and first true love: Jesus.

 Whenever I talk to a guy that I am interested in and that I think might be interested in me, and whenever I think that there may be potential for a future romantic relationship with someone, I constantly remind myself that the Lord is in control and that my heart belongs to him first and foremost. I know that God knows what he’s doing. And I pray that God’s will shall be done. Even afterward if things don’t go the way I had hoped try to remember that.

Psalm 62:5-8 says:

 Let all that I am wait quietly before God,
for my hope is in him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress where I will not be shaken.
My victory and honor come from God alone.
He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.
O my people, trust in him at all times.
Pour out your heart to him,
for God is our refuge.

I feel like these few verse from Psalm 62 are my verses. The verses say exactly what I have been trying to live by in my life (especially in my love life).

I am waiting patiently. All that I am is waiting on God. He’s the one with the plan. I know it’s a good plan. I pray that as a part of that plan he has a good, Jesus-loving man picked to be my future husband. I know that if he does, I will meet him in God’s time. I trust God’s timing and I put my hope in him.

I know ultimately that the Lord has my heart. He holds my heart. And he guards my heart. The Lord is my rock. He’s all that I need. I can be satisfied in him alone. I don’t need a man because Jesus is my first true love.

I trust in God, and I will continue to trust in him at all times. I know he has a beautiful plan for my life. No matter what happens in my love life – at least what has happened so far – has never left me heart broken. I am at peace because my trust and hope are in the Lord.

Well there you have it, we made it through our first blog about boys! Please check in next week to see what else I have to say.

Thanks for reading,

Em

*Here’s a prayer from my journal (about a boy) that I want to share with you guys so you can see how/what I pray when there is a guy in my life.

Dear God,

            How amazing you are I will never be able to explain. The peace you bring me in all situations is incredible. You seriously are guarding my heart and I thank you for that. Even though it does hurt a little bit, I can only imagine how much more it would hurt if you were not in my life.

            Father let your will be done!

             Help me to not fear the future but to laugh at it instead because I know I have a God who loves me and is in control. God, I trust you and I know you have a plan.

             If this relationship is going to happen, let it happen and please give me patience while I wait on your good timing. 

            Thanks for being my first and number one true love. Thank you for holding and guiding and guarding my heart O Lord.

           You are so good
           In your name,  
           Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

