Feeling like a Hannah in a world of Peninnahs

Do you ever feel like you are a Hannah in a world full of Peninnahs?

 If you are thinking who the heck is Hannah and who the heck is Peninnah; let me tell you a little bit about them. To know about Hannah and Peninnah, you first need to know about Elkanah. He was a man in the Bible and we can read the story of him and his wives at the beginning of 1 Samuel. Yes, I said wives – as in he had more than one. Hannah and Peninnah were Elkanah’s wives.

 Peninnah had many children and Hannah had no children, but Elkanah loved Hannah more than he loved Peninnah. Peninnah knew that Elkanah loved Hannah more than he loved her so she would taunt and tease Hannah for having no children. Girls can be so mean to each other gosh!

 Ever since I was a little girl I dreamed about getting married someday. I want to have a house and a good God-fearing husband and lots of kids. Do you have a similar dream to this? I feel like it is something that a lot of girls dream about this. It’s not everyone’s dream, but it was my dream. It still is.

 Peninnah does not seem like a very nice person and yet she is rewarded with a ton of kids. All Hannah wants in life is to have a baby and yet she has none. There are so many times when I feel like I’m Hannah in a world full of Peninnahs.

 I will see other girls and compare myself to them. I will look at them in really good relationships, with amazing boyfriends. Maybe they are even getting engaged or buying a house or even having a baby. I will look at them and think okay where is my boyfriend/husband, and house and baby?

 I will ask and question God and be like “okay God I am living my life for you, I’m devoting myself to you, I am trying to do what you want and be like you. This other girl has nothing to do with you, she’s not living the way you want us to live, yet she has an amazing life. She has a really cute and nice boyfriend while I’m here still single as a pringle. Why? She doesn’t even know you and you’ve given her a good man. I know you but I haven’t had my prince charming show up yet. Why not?” I will ask God and question him while I’m just longing and waiting for a guy to come by and sweep me off my feet.

 I’m a Hannah in a world full of Peninnahs. I feel like every other girl in the world has a boyfriend while God has been keeping me single.

 And when I feel like Hannah, God feels like Elkanah.

 So back to the story: One day Hannah was so upset about not having any children that she wouldn’t eat. She would just starve herself and weep (cry). Elkanah, her husband, said to her, “Hannah, why do you weep? And why do you not eat? And why is your heart sad? Am I not more to you than ten sons?”

 “Am I not more to you than ten sons?”

 When I ask God why I don’t have a boyfriend he asks me “why are you so sad about being single? Am I not enough for you?”

 We need to remember that God is enough for us. If you are single and think that a boyfriend will finally make you happy, if you’re in a relationship and think that being engaged will finally make you happy, or if you’re like Hannah and you’re married and think that having a baby will finally make you happy; we all need to know that only a relationship with our Lord and Saviour will truly make us happy.

God is enough for us; he has already given us everything through Jesus Christ his son. What else do we need?

 But this isn’t the end – Hannah’s story goes on. Hannah prays and prays for a child and in his time, God gives her a son – Samuel. God had a plan for Hannah. In those moments when she was teased by Peninnah and when she wouldn’t eat out of her sorrow and longing for a baby, she couldn’t see the plans that God had for her, just like in the times when we are comparing ourselves to other girls and their boyfriends, husbands, and children, we have a hard time seeing the plans that God has for us. But he does have them. God had good plans for Hannah and he has good plans for all of us too.

 Now I’m not saying that you are going to be guaranteed a boyfriend or a husband or a baby, but know this, God has you right where he wants you; whether that’s as a single lady, a taken lady, or a childless wife. He has you where you’re at for a reason and his plans will all work for good in his time.

Thanks for reading,

Em

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 ESV)

 

Leave a Reply

